New England – The Bee’s Knees and The Big Easy

It’s been a long time since I’ve blogged. I guess a week or so now. 🙂 Hope you enjoyed  your week off too! Oh you didn’t get one…. My bad… Well listen… you just keep working while the people we voted for take their sweet time actually pushing through a budget…

It’s kinda funny, because when I arrived in Vermont for the show at the Bee’s Knees, I struck up a conversation with a young lady about our government. I know it’s one of those taboo subjects, but I have always had a hard time keeping my mouth shut about anything. I told her my views, and luckily, they aligned with hers. I showed her the opening scene to the TV show “The Newsroom” and she was blown away. Lots of hippies in Vermont… and they don’t have TV’s. 😛

That’s how the show started. I then played an hour and a half for a few folks, packed up and headed up to Bangor for the show at the Big Easy. The Bee’s Knees was incredibly intimate, and I love that place. I definitely need to meet more people in VT, but it’s a great room with good food! 

Bangor was a lot of fun. I found the room because I played an open mic there on the last time that I came to town. We had about 30-40 people show up, and for an unsigned singer/songwriter in San Diego to fill a venue in Bangor, Maine, I think that’s pretty cool! I played for about 2 hours and then had to compete with a cover band across the street that was really loud. I started making fun of them, and that wasn’t very nice, but they were bleeding into my set!!! Come on man!!! 😀

I had dinner at the Sea Dog with some kickstarter donors, and convinced my waitress that I was a professional basketball player. That was pretty funny. We had a great dinner and I think everyone enjoyed the show. 

The last week and a half have been relaxing with family in Maine and taking a much needed shower… 😀 I’m getting ready to head to Boston tonight, but unfortunately my show was cancelled. It’s incredibly frustrating when you think you have a show, then e-mail to confirm… then e-mail again… then e-mail again…. then e-mail again… and FINALLY get a reply. Booking may be one of the worst things I have to do. My manager, Jeff helps alot, but at the same time, I watch his e-mails and when they go unreturned, it’s just ridiculous. If you ever grow up to become a booker, please remember that the artists are business people too… bunch of slackers…

Philadelphia is still on though! So my next show will be tomorrow, 10/2/13 at the Grape Room. Followed by NYC on 10/3. I hope you’ll tell somebody!

Well, it’s time to head out! Hope to see you guys soon!

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

