Woodstock, Orlando, and Tampa – Copper Coin Coffee, Natura Coffee and Tea, and Sacred Grounds

Well, I was hoping for a chance to blog today. I guess sitting at JL’s Auto Shop in Gainesville is as good as any place. Didn’t really expect my car to breakdown on the way to Nashville, but what kind of indie tour would it be if it didn’t? Let’s go back to the last three stops of the tour, Shall we?

20131010-170251.jpg

Woodstock
I drove from NYC to Greenville, South Carolina and visited my brother. It was fun. And the people at Bob Jones University weren’t as bad as I thought. A little weird that I couldn’t take his girlfriend with us to dinner, but rules are rules, and I get it. Good people though! I stayed with my Aunt and Uncle that night and played “Would You Rather” with my cousins for a couple hours. (Would you rather have a thumb that was a zippo lighter or a belly button that dispensed slurpees?)

Drove to Atlanta and locked myself in a hotel to watch the Red Sox game before the show in Woodstock. I left at the last possible moment to get to Copper Coin Coffee. CCC had a GREAT sound system and I played for two hours straight. The guys were wicked cool and were Sox fans too, so they didn’t mind my updates of the scores from stage. (Yup… That’s gonna happen the rest of the tour…)

I met a few new people, but didn’t know anyone in Atlanta, since this was my first time. I really liked it though, and hope to go back soon! I had dinner at Waffle House after the A’s and Tigers game, and got a good night’s sleep.

Orlando
I had a few days between shows and stayed at my friend, Heather’s house in Sarasota. It’s always good to see old friends, but she had to work a lot, and I was driving all over the state. I realized that the sox were playing in Tampa on my day off, so I bought a ticket and went! It was my second or third playoff game for the sox, and they’ve lost every single one I’ve gone to, I think. It was a GREAT game though, and even though it was a walkoff homerun in the 9th, I still had a good time. I even got to go to the Ted Williams Hitter’s Hall of Fame. Definitely a highlight, especially after finishing his biography in Maine during my week off.

20131010-170122.jpg

I drove out to Orlando the next day and met up with my favorite Mexichaun. (Mexican/leprechaun) Elaina from the DSC and now at 107.1 WA1A on Timmy and Elaina. It was so good to see her! We had a great dinner, well… I did… She was on some military diet for a cruise she’s going on, but still… It was great to see her.

I played at Natura Coffee and Tea that night and while everyone smoked their hookah, I cracked sarcastic jokes about exes and entertained at least 7 of the 40 or so that were there. The Sox ended up winning after my show ended and that made my night. 🙂 It was another city where I didn’t know anyone, so it was good to make new friends!

Tampa
I stayed near Orlando that night and left early in the morning to meet with Jerry Pemberton, my financial advisor in St. Petersburg. We set up a retirement fund for me…. Ladies…. So yeah… Put up with me for 30 years, and I just may be able to actually retire… Weird, huh? Who needs a 401k? 😉

I then made my way to Tampa where my friend, James Geiger, helped me get a last minute show at Sacred Grounds. I got there early where there was a rally meeting to protest Monsanto. The talk about food made me really hungry, so I ordered a grilled cheese sandwich and eavesdropped on the meeting. I overheard this quote and my jaw dropped. “We need to paint banners, gets lots of sleep, then drop mad acid so we’re not afraid of the cops…” I decided it would be a good idea to go wait in my car for the meeting to end. 😀

I played the show and got to tell the deep deeeeeeeep stories of the songs to everyone. It was so cool to have a few intensely interested people who really appreciated me coming out last minute to play for them.

20131010-171431.jpg
I drove back to Sarasota, did laundry and packed up for Nashville. I had been having weird problems with the electricity in my car and figured it was the alternator, but I had that fixed about a year ago, so that seemed weird.

I drove about 3 or 4 hours and sure enough, my car broke down. AAA helped me get towed to JL’s and I tell you what, these guys are great. If you are ever lucky enough to have your car break down in Gainesville, Florida, this is the spot to go to!

Looks like I’ll be out of here in a few hours and back on the road. Thank the Lord that the alternator was under warranty!

Welp, hope to see you in Nashville tomorrow night!

Tell someone something that scares you tonight!
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

