Nashville – Belcourt Taps

Apparently the lights went out in Detroit… so I have to wait 20 minutes for the game to come back on… sigh…. I’m not superstitious or anything… but this could be bad… or good… but I’m gonna blame it in the end… I just know I will…

So I guess I should tell you about Nashville. 😀 It was a fantastic couple days. Unfortunately, Nashville reminds me alot of LA. A ton of friends who “Flake”- say they’re coming to the show and don’t – and people who want me to “Kiss the Ring” and won’t acknowledge me until I hit them up… it’s all kinda silly really. If you’ve ever had a friend like this, my suggestion is to “Let them go…” cause you don’t need to crawl to anyone for friendship/support. The people who love you are going to show up. And the 20 people who did, they had a great show… I believe it! It was one of my favorite and most funs show of the entire tour! (And longest!) 😀

I had a writing session at SESAC with Josh Lacount, a awesome singer/songwriter I met out in Los Angeles. We wrote a tune similar to “She’s so Bad for Me” and it needs lyrics, but I haven’t been inspired to write them yet. We went to a cool slider joint and had food and talked about the difficulties in music- the people who ask favors and don’t return them, the people who say they support you, but are really just trying to get favors… you know… business. 😀 It was a good time.

The show was great, and I thoroughly enjoyed telling stories and jokes and meeting new people and having a great time. I had lost track of days and thought it was Saturday, and planned on coming back the next day to watch football…. but it was Friday and there were no NFL games on Saturday… cause… they don’t play on Saturday…. (I felt like a moron…) 

I decided to head towards New Orleans, because I’d never been there and I had a few days off. It was definitely one of the best choices and I had a great time there! I had my first beignet and now nothing tastes as good…. got to take a 2 hour old person bus tour and that was fantastic! (Apparently I’m old now…)

I packed up my stuff and headed to Dallas and got to listen to the Patriots game, (Comeback win on the last play of the game) Followed by the Sox game, (Comeback win after a grand slam in the 8th) and felt pretty good. 😀 I shoulda bought a lottery ticket! 😀

Tonight, I’m the featured act at the Opening Bell’s open mic. I go on at 8:00 in Dallas, and I LOVE this spot. Cool vibe, good people and tonight will be alot of fun. I start driving to Phoenix after the show, and will probably sleep somewhere near ABQ if I’m making good time. 🙂 I plan on stopping at the Billy the Kid museum, because I heard I might be related somehow and no one will ever go with me when I’m there. (Grandpa wanted to go to the world’s largest cross instead… what a weirdo….)

Go Sox!
-j

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his homemade EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident, Damigo retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for “Best Acoustic” and “Best Local Recording,” opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, Eric Hutchinson, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

