Dallas and Phoenix, Opening Bell, Rhythm Room, and Hard Rock Cafe

Dallas
The drive from Nashville to Dallas was smooth and sweet. I got to Dallas with enough time to take a day off, catch up on baseball and football, jog, hang out, eat at a FANTASTIC diner called The Original Pancake House and get set for the long drive to Tucson.

The Opening Bell is one of the most inviting stops on my tour. The owner is such a sweetheart and she came to my show last time and told me, “Whenever you are in Dallas, you have a place to play.” Yeehaw! 🙂

I played a 5 song set during the open mic and was treated fantastically by the staff, open mic host, and performers. 3 separate people pulled me aside and played songs for me! It was such a loving and accepting community. Loved it. Definitely a beautiful calm before the storm.

20131019-012248.jpg

Phoenix

The drive from Dallas to Phoenix is one of the worst drives, period. 14 hours of nothing. Then there’s El Paso. Then there’s Albuquerque. Then there’s Tucson. Then you make it to Phoenix. I’d talk more about the drive, but I’m already bored with this section. Here’s the gist.

1. Nothing out there.
2. If they shut down a part of the freeway, it will take an extra hour.
3. El Paso is the worst city I’ve ever driven in.
4. Tucson is okay.

The first night in Phoenix was at the Rhythm Room. I feel like a veteran now! I think it’s my 4th time there! Hailey does a great job, and in spite of a Thursday night football game in Arizona and a Jason Aldean concert, she was able to get 30 or so people to come out. This show was a blast and I got to play with my good buddy, Kyle Phelan, who tore the cover off the ball! He was fantastic. I hate talented people.

I announced my “super secret” at the show, which was that I was staying in town and doing one last show for the tour. (I kept it a secret so that it wouldn’t hurt the show at the Rhythm Room).

Things were great this morning. Woke up. Went to Matt’s Big Breakfast…. Favorite diner ever!!!! Then headed over to the Hard Rock to drop off my gear… And that’s when things went bad.

My car thermometer icon thingy majigger came on… I thought, “well that’s weird… I’m just sitting in this parking spot with the AC on… Then I realized the AC wasn’t working. Trevor got in the car, and we pulled around to the parking lot which was about a block away and the temperature gauge started blinking and making this annoying dinging sound. I parked, lifted the good and there was splatter all over the place… “Weird” we thought. I decided I’d get some coolant just to be safe for the ride home after the show at the Hard Rock, and we’d let the car cool for a while, so we walked to the theatre and watched “Rush”. (GREAT flick.)

We walked to get coolant after the movie and all in all probably logged about 2 miles. (I’m out of shape from this tour…. So I complained a lot…) got to the car, opened it up to put the coolant in, and the Radiator Tube was cracked… Ugh….

20131019-014508.jpg

I figured out right then that I wasn’t going to be going home tonight… 50 days of tour, and my car is inoperable on day 49… Figures…

We went into the Hard Rock, had dinner and sound checked and played. Unfortunately, I was so wrapped up in my car, I let it bother me which in turn let silly things during my performance bother me. Instead of focusing on the 2 dozen people paying attention and digging the show, I focused on the people talking over my songs. Not good. It really ruined my night. But the people who dug it came up and told me so after, and that made it bearable.

I then called AAA, got the car towed, and called Hotels.com to figure out why I couldn’t book a hotel. Apparently after 11 they can’t book hotels in Phoenix… I did it the whole tour, but it’s different in this one city…. The lady suggested a place and I trusted her, thinking it was close to the mechanic, who’s address I gave her…. Not really. She also quoted me 58 for the night, and the hotel was a little bit more…

So after about 130 bucks and 2 hours of wasted time, I’m finally in my hotel waiting to wake up and spend another 40 bucks to get to the mechanic to pay another hundred bucks for car repairs to drive home.

That’s I guess me venting. If this was my worst day of tour, I guess it went pretty okay. I just wanna go home. It’s been a long 2 months. I was telling the tow truck driver (who told me a HILARIOUS story, btw… Remind me to tell you about it…) that it’s tough going from a “top dog” in San Diego, to… Well… A “bitch” in other cities…. I guess it’s growing pains, and you have to get outside of your comfort zone and play shows and meet peeps and try to be positive… But I read “The Secret” on this tour and I visualized positive things and really worked on it… And what did I get? An ex-girlfriend, a catfish, a bunch of expensive, unseen costs, no SDMA, and a feeling of self-doubt that’s just kind of lingering.

Truth be told, I’m just tired. I’ll feel better tomorrow. I hope. Or I’ll be in Phoenix a few days…. either way… I know this… It’s been a tour I’ll never forget.

At the end of the tour, I guess I’m looking back at it and saying, “Well… You did your best.” Nobody can tell me that I haven’t worked my ass off for this, sacrificed for this, and lost for this. I dunno what the future has for me, but I know I’m paying dues, and if in the morning I wake up, and find out it was all some sort of twisted prophetic dream, I’m honestly just gonna get up and start it all again. Maybe I’m dumb. Maybe I’m a masochist. Or maybe this is just the only way I know how to live. Maybe the few seconds that I lose myself on stage are all worth it. Or maybe I should have just been a police officer. Who knows?

Love you guys. Thanks to everyone who booked me, came out to shows, prayed for me, helped fund this, and believes in me. I need you now more than I did a few months ago. So please find me and hug me.

Mwah.
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

