I Will Be There – “Walking With Your Shoes Untied” – Part 1 of 10

Well, here’s the beginning! The big reveal of what my songs mean… I know you’ve all been waiting in anticipation since I announced it last Wednesday. (I hope I don’t let you down!!!)

The Game
My good friend, Cathryn Beeks, runs a friendly competition called “The Game” every other month in San Diego. The way that this game is played is simple- she supplies a title, and all of the writers have a few weeks to write a song, and then perform it for everyone at a show. You end up hearing 20 songs with the same title, but all completely different. The “winners” are those who participate and those lucky enough to find seats to the show. 🙂

She had received the title, “Walking With Your Shoes Untied” from the great writer, Jack Tempchin, who’s song “Peaceful, Easy Feeling” was one of the greatest songs released by The Eagles. At shows, I usually would explain this song, this way: “I like to tell people that I wrote this song with the great, Jack Tempchin! He wrote a bunch of hit songs including “Peaceful, Easy Feeling” by The Eagles! But that’s a lie… I don’t think he knows who I am…” And then I start the song…

What it Means
I feel like I’ve gone through a lot in the last few years. A rendezvous in a city that didn’t feel like home, with people who just want to be famous, relationships that completely unraveled (with no explanation), and depression that left me gaining 50 pounds (which I’ve lost!!! Yay!!!) are just the tip of the iceberg. When I heard the title, I immediately thought about a Bible verse that I love. Psalm 37:23-24 reads, “The steps of a man are established by the Lord, and he delights in his way. When he falls, he will not fall face-first, for the Lord holds his hand.” To me, what better friend is there, than someone who will be there when your life hits the pavement, or takes a nose dive into the mud?

I went to writing the song as a way for me to snap out of my funky times in life. “Every song won’t be a hit.” Is directed right at me, because I have too high expectations of myself. It’s just a reminder not to be upset if I write a dud. (Don’t worry- I’d never let you hear one when I do…;-)

“Every year won’t be your best” – It was around New Years, and everyone was talking about how “Amaaaazzzzzing” or “Terrrrrible” 2013 was. It usually had to do with their outlook on life, and not really how the year went. (Just watch social media on December 27th… You’ll roll your eyes too!)

“But if you learn something from it, there’s no need to hang your head…” Just a reminder to keep my head up… And it rhymes… 😉

“Every wrong turn isn’t wrong, and all the right moves don’t always work…” This was a reminder to me to keep working, and to do it, in Frank Sinatra’s Words, “My way.” Everyone tells you how you “should” do something, but just because that’s how others do it, it doesn’t mean that’s how I have to!

“But if you learn a lesson dear, don’t let nothing bother you!” Sorry about the double negative… I just wanted to make sure you knew to “shake it off”, no matter what it is you’re going through.

“It’s like walking with your shoes untied,
Singing with the clouds in your skies,
Laughing through the tears in your eyes,
It’s just a little thing called, “life”
And it’s like walking with your shoes untied.”
I honestly have never been able to be the kinda guy who can just be easy going- like so many San Diegans… I guess that’s why I seem to be so “uptight” in SD, but “easy going” in LA… Weird, right? This is just about learning to be carefree.

“Every plan won’t always work
And you may fall flat on your face
But once you brush off all the dirt,
You’ll see, it’s gonna be a beautiful day”
Similar reminder from earlier in the song- and back to that Bible verse- just brush the dirt off and remember how beautiful everything is!

Last part- “now don’t you get me wrong,
It’s not always, rainbows and love songs” this part is about those people I meet who are completely disillusioned with the idea that life is always amaaaaaazing… I can’t ever go that far- I’m not that naive- but I heard a fantastic quote for those times in your life. “There are only two things in life you can control, and those are your attitude and your work ethic, everything else is completely out of your control, so let it go, therefore – “But you can’t do anything, except change the way you look at things!”

So I guess that’s the whole song. I hope it give you as much as encouragement as it sometimes gives me. 😛 Even on your hardest days, try to keep your head up, because sometimes, that’s all you can do.

See you tomorrow.
-j

Walking with Your Shoes Untied
Written by Josh Damigo
©2014

Every song won’t be a hit
Every year won’t be your best
But if you learn something from it
There’s no need to hang your head

Every wrong turn isn’t wrong
And the right moves don’t always work
And if you learn a lesson dear,
Don’t let nothing bother you, yeah

It’s like walking with your shoes untied and
Singing with the clouds in your skies and
Laughing with tears in your eyes
It’s just a little thing called life
and It’s like walking with your shoes untied

Now,
Every plan won’t always work
And you may fall flat on your face
But once your brush off all the dirt
You’ll see, it’s gonna be a beautiful day, yeah

(Chorus)

Walking with your shoes untied and
Singing with the clouds in your skies and
Laughing with the tears in your eyes
It’s just a little thing called life
and it’s like walking with your shoes untied

Now don’t you get me wrong
It’s not always rainbows and love songs
But you can’t do anything
except, change the way you look at things

(Chorus)

Walking with your shoes untied and
Singing with the clouds in your skies and
Laughing with the tears in your eyes
It’s like
Walking with your shoes untied and
Singing with the clouds in your skies and
Laughing with the tears in your eyes

It’s just a little thing called life
and it’s like walking with your shoes untied

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Will Be There – “Walking With Your Shoes Untied” – Part 1 of 10

  1. The song is wonderful….Thanks for sharing…..

  2. Jack Tempchin says:

    Great song! I don’t know how you did it with that stupid title. Really sounds great as well, great record.
    thanks
    Jack Tempchin

Leave a Reply

