I Will Be There – “Just Give Me a Call” – Part 2 of 10

(If you want to purchase it!)
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/i-will-be-there/id919422691
Happy Reading!

The Call

I was dating my ex, and getting ready for tour when I penned this one. She was going through a rough decision as to what she should do as a career, and mentioned that she didn’t want to bother me with her “problems.”  This has always been a balance that I haven’t done well with, as I’m told by multiple people that I’m terrible to read on the phone. (Texts…etc…) A lot of my good friends have commented that they hate to call me because I always sound annoyed on the phone. I think I do have some sort of telephonic anxiety as to “get to the point… you’re annoying me…” and would rather not be on the phone than to be on the phone just listening to silence… (So annoying!!! Say something!!!) but I wouldn’t want someone to not call me because of that! I wrote this one to reassure her that I would always answer if she called.

“When the very earth you stand on
starts to tumble down

When you’ve overstayed your welcome
and you’re tired of this old town

When your friends, they all desert you
and you want to come around,

Just give me a call.” I guess this part is pretty self-explanatory. Basically, I wanted her to know that no matter what situation she was in, she could run to me, and I’d be there.

“When you’re tired of all the liars
and all the politics,
When your heart is nearly broken
and you feel like it could quit,
When your world just won’t stop spinning
and you want it all to end,
Just give me a call.” Again, pretty self explanatory. I think the one part that is a little deeper is the idea of the liars and politics. I can’t stand people who hit you up just when they need something. I regularly get calls from people out of the blue, just because they want a favor or advice. I’m more than happy to give it, if we have a good relationship/talk a lot, but if we haven’t talked in a year or two, and you’re just hitting me up because you want free tickets to an upcoming show… psh… that’s rude. The idea of “Politics” refers to those friends you have who treat your friendship like a power play. I watched the entire season of “House of Cards” in two days… don’t try to pull that stuff on me… 😛

“I will be there
to put the blue back in your skies,
I will be there
Before the tears fill up your eyes,
I will be there
To hold you through it all,
Just give me a call” -I think this has a dual meaning. Part of it is my faith- the idea that God loves me and could literally be there for me before tears show up in my eyes. The other part is a longing to be able to do this for someone. How great would it be to stop a friend from crying just by having them know that you’re there for them? The power in that is unbelievable to me. I hope that I’m able to supply that for someone one day. (If I haven’t already.)

When you’re searching for a reason
But it just can’t be found,
When you’re all filled up with poison
And your body’s on the ground,
When you want someone to love you
Without making a sound,
Just give me a call.  -I’d guess that the middle of this section has the deepest meaning of the whole track, and that people are going to get it wrong. (Which is fine! I want it to mean something different to everyone…) But since it’s my blog and I’m talking about it in my words, the lines, “When you’re all filled up with poison”, doesn’t actually refer to alcohol. It refers to negativity. Sometimes, you just need to talk to a friend who is positive to get you out of the funk, and that’s what I’m trying to be there.

The second part is “When you want someone to love you without making a sound.” I’ve already had people joke about this one and say, “What kind of sex is that?” HA! That’s not what I meant at all. The idea that I had was one of being next to someone that you cared about and just holding their hands. Sometimes, in life, there are no words that you can use to help someone out. If a child died, what do you say to the parents? “God has a plan?”, “It will get better?” even, “Sorry for your loss.” All seem like such terrible responses. I think it’s better to just hold them and say nothing at all. That’s what that line means to me.

The Second Meaning
The meaning that this has taken on for me since releasing the single, was that of hope for those who are depressed. In the light of Robin William’s suicide, I was incredibly moved to make sure that everyone I know and come in contact with, would feel important and loved. You never know how much someone is hurting inside, and I believe it’s good to think of those things whenever you see someone. I hope that I’m always someone who comes across to others as one who cares about their well beings, and even in an argument, they would know that I want their lives to be as beautiful as possible.

Two days down! Eight more to go! Here’s your song clip and lyrics!
-j

Just Give Me a Call
(C) 2013 Damigo Publishing
Written by Josh Damigo

When the very earth you stand on
Starts to tumble down,
When you’ve overstayed your welcome
And you’re tired of this old town,
When your friends, they all desert you
And you want to come around,
Just give me a call.

When you’re tired of all the liars
And all the politics,
When your heart is nearly broken
And you feel like it could quit,
When your world just won’t stop spinning
And you want it all to end,
Just give me a call.

And I will be there
To put the blue back in your skies,
I will be there
Before the tears fill up your eyes,
I will be there
To hold you through it all,
Just give me a call

When you’re searching for a reason
But it just can’t be found,
When you’re all filled up with poison
And your body’s in the ground,
When you want someone to love you
Without making a sound,
Just give me a call

(Instrumental Break)

And I will be there
To put the blue back in your skies,
I will be there
Before the tears fill up your eyes,
I will be there
To hold you through it all,
Just give me a call
Just give me a call

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Will Be There – “Just Give Me a Call” – Part 2 of 10

  1. Mi Rinda says:

    This is such a great song!

  2. Carrie B says:

    I’m not going to lie…. i haven’t heard your new cd yet. Shoot, i don’t think i heard your last either. And, golly….i haven’t been to a gig in awhile (and when i go, i don’t say hello…cuz who the heck am i????). I swear I’m getting to something good here! Stay with me. Lol. BUT! I’m enjoying learning about your songs first. To read the words and understand what you mean/meant gives me a little more of a connection to your song. Thank you for sharing, Josh. This is a new way for me to enjoy a CD and when it’s all said and done in 18 days, I’m looking forward to hearing it for the first time. 🙂 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

