I Will Be There – “It’s Hard to Make a Heart Forget” – Part 5 of 10

This is a song that a lot of people have told me is their favorite track on the new record. I had recorded a version of it for the last album, “Hope”, but that album already had 17 other tracks on it, and I thought it better to sit on this one a little bit longer. I’m glad it was worth the wait! 🙂

The Story
I had been invited by the folks over at GreenRoots in Los Angeles to attend a songwriting meet-up. They would take 15 writers, split them up, and then after a couple hours, everyone would come back together and share the songs that they had written. I love cowriting, as I said the other day, and this sounded awesome to me. At the same time, I was pretty nervous about who I would be matched up with. (There are some people that I don’t necessarily get along with in LA… if you didn’t know…)

We all met up at Mikal Blue’s studio, Revolver Studios, in Thousand Oaks, and were put into groups. I won the lottery and got in one of the biggest rooms with two of my favorite people in the entire world- Nina Storey and JT Spangler. This would be one of the best nights that I had when I was living in LA.

We all sat down in our room- Nina at her keyboard, and JT and I across the room with our guitars and started getting to work. JT started with sharing a line he had written- “It’s hard to make a heart forget…” and Nina and I both coo’d “OOOOOOOoooooooo…” We started with the chorus, and it took about an hour. I was feeling a little down about it taking so long, but I felt good about it, because we stuck to the format, and it fit really well.

We then moved to the verses. JT was the one who’s voice we were writing for, so it was a little out of my range, but he had some great ideas like when he said, “I like to throw in a line that throws people off, like “It took all my composure…” I don’t think people say things like that… Nina and I agreed.

We all threw lines back and forth, and eyes were getting pretty teary in there. Nina and I had just gone through breakups and it was fresh for both of us. (JT would go through a break up soon afterwards… but I doubt it was cause of the song… but I’m not going to rule that out…)

We finished the first verse, and we had about an hour and a half before we were supposed to be finished. There is a funny joke that we started where if someone needs to leave for the restroom, they say something to the effect of, “I need to use the restroom… finish the song while I’m gone and put my name on it…” It was a JT’s turn to use the commode, and I told Nina to write down whatever I sang. I started freestyling the second verse and…. I don’t want to brag… but KNEW that I nailed it, when I looked up and saw her absolutely sobbing behind the keyboard. I ran over and gave her a hug, (made sure she actually HAD written it down…) and we cried it out. JT came back and said, “Are you guys done?” and we both looked up and said, “Kinda…” I played it for him, and he said, “Brilliant!” and we worked on the bridge.

When we went into the meeting room to play our song for everyone else, we went second to last. I think we all felt pretty confident, because all three of us loved our song- However, when the other artists started playing their songs, they were all positive and happy! I started feeling pretty awkward and whispered to Nina, “We are totally going to ruin this party…” Sure enough, when we played, I can still remember tears in Angelique Sheppard’s (Owner of GreenRoots) eyes when she said, “This is exactly why we do what we do.”

And here’s your song!

It’s Hard to Make a Heart Forget
© 2011
Written by Josh Damigo, JT Spangler and Nina Storey

Someone asked me about you
I didn’t know what to say
And it took all my composure
Just to wear a happy face

So I stumbled back home
To a dark empty room
I laid my head on the floor
With a picture of you

(Chorus)
It’s hard to make a heart forget
When it doesn’t want to give up yet
There’s no room for argument
That it’ll listen to

And even though I know you’re gone
A part of you’s still beating strong
Now I’m finally at the point of nothing left to lose

I found a note you left me
in a box on the shelf
And it it kills to believe that
You’re writing those to someone else

(Chorus)

Bridge
In my head I’m over you
Still I just can’t forget
Cause even though you’ve moved on
I still feel you in my chest

(Chorus)

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

