I Will Be There – “How I Fall in Love” – Part 9 of 10

New Album, "I Will Be There" Available on Randm Records!

New Album, “I Will Be There” Available on Randm Records!

Here’s another gut wrenching song… My bad, ya’ll…. 🙂 I actually got a letter from my grandaunt the other day asking me if I was okay, after listening to the record. I assure you… I am. I was just writing really, really, good “sad” songs. (If I do say so myself…) 😛

The Song
I can’t remember exactly where I was when I got the idea for this song, but I do remember that I had just finished the opening guitar riff and thought, “I really like that… but it’s gotta go with a sad song…” And wrote it. I think this is one of those songs that I had to really work at when I was going through a songwriting rutt. Sometimes, as a songwriter, you have to force yourself to just sit down and make things happen. I remember multiple times where I wrote what I thought was absolute garbage, but got a good line or note, and so it was all worth it. 

Of all the songs on the record, I feel particularly proud of this one, because of the continuity and matureness in the lyrical content. I think this was the second track that I sent my producer, Mike Butler, and convinced him to record my record.

In my head, I have this gut feeling that whenever I fall for someone, something is going to get in the way and mess it all up. I imagine a music video, in which the main character sees the girl he’s about to fall for, and everything goes in slow motion. His imagination takes over, and he lives out the entire relationship in 3 minutes and 30 seconds. In the end, they break up, and so he never actually asks her out, because he already “knows” how it’s going to end. Don’t you love negativity? Sigh…

The Lyrics
Mama always said not to fall in love (Just for the record, I’d never call my mom, “mama”… She laughed when she heard that.)
She said, “Boy, you better take your time…”
Don’t show ‘em your hand, Don’t move too fast
Save yourself some trouble down the line 
(To be fair, she has always been someone who I’ve thought thinks with her head, whereas, I think with my heart. I often wish I was more like her in that aspect.)

Well, I guess that’s a lesson that I never learned
Cause I got a heart full of battle scars (I don’t like to brag… but I think this may be the best line on the entire record…)
I’m no good at games, Ain’t got no poker face
When I fall in love, I fall real hard (That’s wicked true… Although, I probably do have a poker face… or maybe I don’t. I play with some friends a lot… and I never seem to win… hmmmm….)

(Chorus)

I’ll notice that I’ll miss her smile, when she’s gone
I find myself wishing on every single star (I like the idea that one wish/star wouldn’t be enough…. give me the whole sky!!!)
And I could have the whole wide world
But she’d control my heart (Absolutely true. It’d be amazing that someone could control your mind, regardless of how great life is going… I’m a sucker…)
That’s how I fall in love
That’s how I fall in love

My friends’ll say she’s no good for me
They’ll say, “Man, she’s gonna leave you blue.”
Don’t let her close, but they already know
That there ain’t nothing that I can do (I often think of my friends in high school, who could always tell when I was falling for someone… I’m not very good at the whole, “I like this person… keep it a secret…” thing… If I liked someone… it would come out immediately… and then continue to circulate, cause I’d just stare at them during every class… ugh…)

(Chorus)

And I’ll get shakey hands
When I see her again
And I won’t find the words to say (Totally me… Believe it or not, there was a time that I was so scared to tell a girl I liked her… Now I literally open with, “OMG!!! You’re beautiful!)

I’ll jump the gun again
End up alone and then
I’ll have no one else to blame (That’s always been my problem- jumping the gun on the relationship. I always want to cannonball into love… no tip-toeing…baaaaahhhhh…)

(Chorus)

The End
I don’t always go into relationships this way, but after enough breakups, it can start to wear on you. I think the best thing to do is never go into a relationship if you’re not over the last one. It’s just not fair to the other person. The best thing to do in any relationship is make sure that you care about the other person’s feelings above your own. If I feel like I’m going to hurt someone, I tread very carefully. Dating is hard enough! Why make it worse?

Tomorrow’s the last day, and it’s going to be totally different! Hope you dig it!

How I Fall in Love
Written by Josh Damigo
(C) 2013 Damigo Publishing

Mama always said not to fall in love
She said, “Boy, you better take your time…”
Don’t show ‘em your hand, Don’t move too fast
Save yourself some trouble down the line

Well, I guess that’s a lesson that I never learned
Cause I got a heart full of battle scars
I’m no good at games, Ain’t got no poker face
When I fall in love, I fall real hard

(Chorus)

I’ll notice that I’ll miss her smile, when she’s gone
I find myself wishing on every single star
And I could have the whole wide world
But she’d control my heart
That’s how I fall in love
That’s how I fall in love

My friends’ll say she’s no good for me
They’ll say, “Man, she’s gonna leave you blue.”
Don’t let her close, but they already know
That there ain’t nothing that I can do

(Chorus)

And I’ll get shakey hands
When I see her again
And I won’t find the words to say

I’ll jump the gun again
End up alone and then
I’ll have no one else to blame

(Chorus)

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Will Be There – “How I Fall in Love” – Part 9 of 10

  1. Dan V says:

    ‘I always want to cannonball into love’..now there’s a line to put in a song.

Leave a Reply

