Day 8 #BrokeAssTour

Today pretty much consisted of trying every cold remedy/medicine known to man. I got into Santa Barbara around 5:30 and slept till 11. I worked online for a little bit, then wandered down to Starbucks to get a sick tea.

“Sick Tea”
1 Regular Green Tea Bag
1 Eucamint Tea bag
Honey
Lemon
1 Inch of Orange Juice
Hot Water

The best place to get it is at LeStats. They make it right and it feels so good!

I got a 50 dollar donation from a fan in Phoenix to get drugs for my cold and I can’t tell you how appreciative I was. You guys literally make me get tears, hardcore.

I showed up to soundcheck at the Velvet Jones and closed the door on Eric Hutchinson. I remember closing it and saying, “Show starts at 5:30…. Oh… It’s you… My bad…” (great way to start…. Sigh….) He was cool and did a cover of “Santeria” for his check. His voice is so silky smooth. And his energy is super refreshing.

I had a problem with my loop pedal again. I think I need digitech to come show me how to get more out of it w/ less feedback. It was frustrating.

I went backstage tired, sick, annoyed, and Eric and his wife both started talking to me. I was kinda taken back because other than Shawn Mullins and Marc Broussard, the headlining acts usually treat me like trash. Eric is witty, clever and funny as hell. He asked me about the #brokeasstour and I could tell he really cared and knew what it was like. He gave me a few suggestions for booking help and it was an honor to open for him. I was a fan of his singles, but I’m an even bigger fan of him as a person. I hope you’ll get his album when it comes out next week.

I played the set, and literally almost passed out on stage. When I got off, I went back stage and Eric was warming up. I tried to stay out of his way, cause I didn’t think it’d be cool if I barfed all over the green room while he was trying to prep. I guess I’m just thoughtful like that… 😉
I genuinely think he’s one of the kindest guys I’ve met. I’d open for him any time. He’s the real deal.

I went out to eat after the show but really just wanted to go to bed. Once I got back to the pad, I immediately fell asleep.

Today, I’m driving to Tracy to do my taxes, then playing a campfire show for adults with disabilities. I’m feeling a little better as far as achy/feverish, but my tonsils are swollen and I’m stuffy… Gah.

Love u guys. See you in San Fran on Friday and back to San Diego on Saturday!

-j

P.S. HUGE thanks to Hillary from KRUZ 97.5 for having me. If my career gets bigger, you better believe that I’m goon to remember which station was playing me before anyone else!

20120412-082635.jpg

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment